Ravens Rock Launch Promo 2013

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Ravens Rock Rally 2013

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

The Ravens Rock Rally is run by the Carrick on Suir Motor Club and is a round of the Dunlop National Rally Championship,the Southern 4 Rally Championship and the South East Stages Rally Championship. The event will be run over the weekend of June 30th 2013,with service based on the South Quay’s in Waterford and Rally Head Quarters at Dooley’s Hotel. The Rally will begin with a Ceremonial Start on Saturday evening at 7:00 pm in Barronstrand St. Sunday will see cars embarking on a loop of three stages in County Waterford before returning to the Service Park on the South Quays. This loop will be repeated three times, with the cars returning to service after each loop. This is a large scale event involving over 300 volunteers and officials, approx 150 teams and with over 500 Drivers, Navigators and Mechanics. It has extensive Global Television coverage and is projected to bring over €1.2 million in revenue to the local economy, with an estimated 800+ bed nights to the hospitality sector.The Service Park will also feature a Food Village with Children's Fun Fair Ridesand Entertainment making it an exciting family day out.

For the Latest News on the Ravens Rock Rally Click Here

To download the Ravens Rock Rally 9 page Event Overview Click Here

The 2013 Rally Head Quarters will be based at Dooley's Hotel Waterford




Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

The woods of West Limerick are set to resonate to the revs of racing engines when the West Limerick Forest Rally takes place on Sunday February 10th.The rally is based in Kantoher Business Park, near New Castle West and it marks the opening round of the 2013 Valvoline Motorsport Ireland Forest Rally Championship. The event is being organised and promoted jointly by the Forestry Committee and Limerick Motor Club.

Experienced rally official Barry Duggan is the clerk of the course and he has picked 2 classic stages that will run twice with a total stage distance of 40km.

Duggan said "The stages are fast and smooth and they are in a forest complex that found favour when last used in 2007. I expect the cars and drivers will be tested to the limit. The whole ethos of the rally is value for money. The entry fee is €350 and the route with a total distance of 50km is very compact. It is an excellent rally for newcomers to the woods and I am glad there is a lot of interest from our forest regulars and some new faces".

Scrutiny, service and administration all take place in rally headquarters in Kantoher Business Park. First car is away at 12 noon and the finish is scheduled for 16:00hrs.

Entries are available from Trisha Hogan at Ardsallagh, Youghal, Co Cork.086 1233742.

Entries received as of January 17th include:

Pat O'Connell/Mark Wiley Evo 9 (Cashel)oconnell-wiley

Michael Ryan/James Lowry Honda Civic (Cashel)

Paul Fitzgerald/Pierce Doheny Escort Mk2 (Charleville)

Brian O'Donnell/TBA (Tubbercurry)

Declan O’Regan/TBA (Ennis)  

Kyle Orr/TBA Evo 8 (Dromore Co.Down)

Gearoid O' Regan/TBA (Banagher, Offaly)  

Joseph Allen/TBA (Rockchapel)

Edna McNulty/Paul Sheridan Impreza (Co.Tyrone)

Bobbie Benskin/Nicky Hegarty Escort Mk2 (Co.Cork)

Danny Creedon/Tom Foley (Milstreet)

Ger/James Lucey Evo 8 (Ballyvourney)

Jer Connors/TBA Subaru (Ballinamult, Co.Waterford) 

Jimmy Deane/Peter Murphy Escort (Lombardstown)  

Tommy O’Connell/Brian Duggan Escort Mk2 (Derry)

Shane McGirr/Jackie Elliott Starlet RWD (Fivemiletown)

Mick O'Brien/Greg Shinnors Focus WRC (London)


Protection of the Sport Documents

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail


Arising from the meeting with clubs after the CAC meeting that took place on the 21st November 2012 please find attached copies of the following documents:

Document Proposal CAC 21.11.12

Time  Dist - 1 Min Comparison

These documents are due for discussion at our January monthly meeting (8-1-2013). Can you please download and read....





Club - Nominations for the Ivan Webb and J.C. Millard Memorial Awards

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Carrick on Suir Motor Club Nomination for the Ivan Webb Memorial Award

Ann Fitzgerald

Reading through the thirty seven year history of this prestigious award, one striking statistic leaps from the page, Nuala Ni Bhriain being the only woman to have been honoured.

That is about to change this year as the Carrick on Suir Motor Club candidate for the 2012 Ivan Webb Memorial Award is Ann Fitzgerald. It's time to step into the 21st century and recognise the vital role that women have played and continue to play in our sport, and none more so than Ann Fitzgerald.

In 2012 Ann celebrated her 41st year as Carrick MC Club secretary; yes that's correct 41 years. In what has now become a lifetime devoted to the club and sport she loves, Ann started in the usual way marshalling on events but when the post of club secretary became available she was drafted in and has remained in situ now for over four decades.

Along with the day to day running of the Carrick MC, Ann has fulfilled many other duties within the club and on a national level, they include:

(1) 30 years as Ravens Rock Rally Event Secretary.

(2) 30 years as Willie Loughman Forest Rally Event Secretary.

(3) Carrick MC, COC Single Stage Rally, Clerk of the Course.

(4) 3 years as Ravens Rock Rally, Clerk of the Course.

(5) In charge of results for the National Tarmac Rally Championship

(6) In charge of Prizegiving for the National Rally Championship.

(7) 24 years as Registrar for the South East Stages Rally Championship.

(8) Timing operator on Tarmac Internationals i.e. Rally of the Lakes and the Donegal International Rally.

(9) Radio operator on Tarmac Internationals i.e. Rally of the Lakes and the Donegal International Rally.

At a recent function held in her honour, Ann described taking the helm as COC for the Ravens Rock Rally as her greatest achievement but for the Carrick on Suir Motor Club members it's the legacy that Ann has accumulated over a lifetime dedicated to the club and may I say, Irish Motorsport.  

Carrick on Suir Motor Club

Nomination for the 2012 J.C. Millard Memorial Award

Seamus Anderson

During the now long forgotten Celtic Tiger years there was an influx of big names and big cars to our international and clubman events in Ireland. That once roaring beast has since left our shores the big names and the big cars have vanished. What is left is the true 'Clubman' or 'Clubwoman' as both terms have the same definition. A clubman or club woman is a person that is there competing and working for their respective club year in year out. It doesn't matter if it's an 'Autotest' event on a cold January morning or an 'Autocross' on a wet March Sunday, that person is there, lining out because of their love the sport!

For the Carrick on Suir Motor Club there is no better member in this respect today than our current Competitors Club Champion, Seamus Anderson and that is why the Carrick on Suir Motor Club have chosen him as our nomination for the 2012 J.C. Millard Memorial Award.

Seamus embodies all that is great about our sport at club level. Competing in club events throughout the year, being on hand to help with the organisation of events and also being available to help other club members as they prepare.

As of today 1-11-2012 we are only four days away from our final event of the season and Seamus is perched at the top of the standings with a nine point advantage and looks odds on to take his seventh title in a row.


Page 3 of 9